After some discussion with Leigh yesterday, and some experimentation with different platforms, I’ve decided to go with Pageflakes as the course hub.

Pageflakes allows you to amalgamate feeds or other widgets within a single page fairly easily, then publish this to the web. Here’s a link to the page that I’ve set up for the 1st year of the massage therapy programme (main cohort).

http://www.pageflakes.com/opmassagetherapyyr1

I’ve set up a blog in blogger for each of the courses within the first semester of the programme, and this page has a feed for each of them. The idea here is that the Anatomy 1 lecturer only needs to look after the Anatomy 1 blog.

On the right side of the page is a sustainability feed based on my del.icio.us tags. I only need to tag a page with sustainability & it will show up here.

This page took me about 30 mins – 1 hour to set up (including setting up the blogs, and creating a gmail account) . I’m not including the time that I took playing around & figuring out how pageflakes works (perhaps 2 hours).

This page is designed for full-time students, but the beauty of it is that I can fairly easily set up a page for a part-time student stream. If I go through the same process I can set up a page that only has feeds from whichever courses the student(s) is(are) enrolled in.

Once a student is enrolled in the course all I need to do is to send them an email with a link to the course hub that is relevant to them.

I’m pretty stoked with this solution :-). The look is not ideal at present, but I can upload my own banner, so I plan to talk with marketing about this soon.

