We’re through the second practical block, which has been another period of intense work. The task of getting assessments ready for three of the the four courses which have just started, led me to work until after 1pm two nights last week. Getting up at my usual 6am left me feeling like the Living Dead on Friday.

But I got there, and after a bit of a sleep in on Saturday, am feeling a bit better.

I get the sense that online delivery will be a bit like this – work peaks and troughs, as defined by the timing of practical blocks. I’m now through what I think will be the most intense period of the year for me. I’m about to launch into teaching Fundamentals of Massage as well as Study skills, and focussing a bit more on the second year students (it’s case-study season, and I need to get into developing the Business Studies course for them). I think I’m starting to get into some kind of rhythm instead of the frantic scrabbling to get everything sorted that has characterised my last month or so.

I haven’t managed to get the survey instrument out to the students yet, so I’m not sure exactly where the class is as a whole, but from a small survey of the students it seems that most of them have been doing far less than the amount of work they really should have been doing so far. To some degree it’s their cake that they’ll now need to eat (with four other courses starting up the demands on their time will increase quite dramatically), and the Study Skills programme has been designed to be self-paced, so it’s not the end of the world, but I am a little concerned. I’m going to send out the first survey on Monday, so I’ll get a bit more of a sense of where the class is at.

