Carrying on from my last post, I’ve developed  a rubric for assessing the blog posts of my students.

Initially I intended that the rubric should motivate the students to

  1. Develop understanding of key subject areas
  2. Act in ways which will support the development of a learning community

However as I got into the process of nutting-out how this was going to work, I realised that it’s also important that it motivates the students to write well, reflect on their process, and develop good scholarly habits (i.e. referencing and referring to sources outside of the ones provided in class).

The rubric is a work-in-process rather than a finished product.  It contains 5 categories with a total of 20 marks.

One of the problems I’ve identified is that understanding of the subject of the blog post is perhaps not weighted heavily enough.  I think it should probably have a weighting of 2 or so, but I do like that nice round number 20 as a total, so I’d need to either merge two of the other categories or weight two of them with ½ weights.

Perhaps the second option is the best.  This would provide me with a certain degree of flexibility.  If I was using this rubric in a  course where reflection was particularly important, I could weight writing quality and scholarship with ½ weights.  If in another course scholarship and writing quality were particularly important, I could weight community involvement and reflection with ½ weights.

What do you think?

