I’ve just read an incredibly interesting article.

Hofstede G (1986). Cultural differences in teaching and learning. International Journal of Intercultural Relations 10 (3) 301-320

The article considers key attributes of different societies and how these relate to the expectation of teachers and learners.  Unfortunately it’s not an open access article, so I can’t link to it here, but I have found a summary of the important tables of attributes within the article.

It’s a start, but the original article also stated which countries had which attributes, and without this information, the tables are of limited use.  Is anyone aware of a source of this information?

I think these are invaluable considerations for anyone who deals regularly with students from other countries.  If I had more time on my hands I’d take on the project of summarising the findings of the article into an open-source format.